When using a classic word processor, an edited file is saved only when you press save. This however can not be done in OptiPerl. OptiPerl needs to save the file very often, even if you don't tell it too, because it is the only way to run it, debug it and run tools on it. However you may notice that the behavior of a classic word processor is emulated completely.

 

When optiperl opens a file, it keeps two copies of it in memory. One is to display the editor, another is the original state the file was when first opened, and only changes when you select "Save". If the file was saved by optiperl so you could run or debug it, and then you close it, selecting "cancel" on saving the changes, what actually happens is that the file gets saved; but with it's original contents (if of course this is needed).

 

All the above is completely transparent to you; But have this in mind if you notice that the file has been actually saved after running it, even though you did not press save. If you cancel saving changes afterwards, the file will be restored.

 

Top  Previous  Next